Campbellsville University Honors Three OPS Teachers for Excellence in Education

Teachers L-R: Quattrochi, Rickard, Walker

Campbellsville University’s 34th annual Excellence in Teaching Award Program Ceremony was canceled this year due to the COVID-19 pandemic. However, 217 teachers received the Excellence in Teaching Award from 76 districts and/or private schools in the Commonwealth of Kentucky. Twenty-two of the teachers have Campbellsville College or University degrees and nine teachers are National Certified Teachers.

Dr. Donna Hedgepath, provost and vice president for academic affairs, said, “The Excellence in Teaching program is one of our most meaningful tributes to Kentucky teachers.

“Teachers deserve recognition for pouring themselves into the lives of our P-12 students. Teachers not only serve students in the classroom, but they make profound impacts in their students’ personal lives and on their future. I am honored to have the opportunity to recognize the best of the best in education!”

Hedgepath, herself a teacher and university professor for several years, would have been present for the ceremony, along with Dr. Lisa Allen, dean of the School of Education.

Allen said, “During this time of pandemic, teachers have had to be creative and flexible problem solvers in delivering relevant, timely instruction to their students. The teachers who are EIT recipients this year have and will continue to find innovative ways to lead, to teach and to help students succeed regardless of the learning challenges presented by COVID 19. I am sorry that this year, we are unable to have our usual celebration to honor them. I am proud of these teachers who continue to shape the future for all of us regardless of circumstances.”  

A total of 4,163 Kentucky teachers have been honored since the program began in 1987 with assistance from Earl Aaron and the Ward, Cundiff and Aaron Memorial Fund. The purpose of the program is to recognize the quality teaching and learning taking place in the school systems throughout Kentucky. 

The Excellence in Teaching Awards program is in partnership with Lexington’s CBS-affiliate, WKYT-TV. The teachers are selected by their school districts in each grade level (preschool/elementary, middle and high school).

Winners from Owensboro Public Schools include Jaime Quattrocchi, Sutton Elementary School; Storm Rickard, Owensboro Middle School; and David Walker, Owensboro High School.

Quattrocchi, of Owensboro, Ky., teaches 4th grade science at Sutton Elementary School where she has worked since 2009. She formerly taught science at Southern Middle School in Fayette County from 2003 until 2009, and at Owensboro Middle School from 1998 until 2003. She received her Bachelor of Science in Elementary Education from Brescia University in 1998. She earned her 

Master of Arts in Education at Western Kentucky University in 2003 and received a Rank I from Indiana Wesleyan University in 2003. 

Rickard, of Owensboro, Ky., teaches emotional behavioral disorders for 5th-8th grades at Owensboro Middle School and Owensboro Middle School South Campus where he has been employed since July 2016. He received his Bachelor of Science in Systems Management in 2012 and his Master of Arts in Teaching in 2016 Western Kentucky University. He is a 2003 graduate of Owensboro High School. 

Walker, of Philpot, Ky., teaches visual arts at Owensboro High School for 9-12th grades. He has taught there since 2003. He received his Bachelor’s degree in 2002 and his Master’s in 2006 from Morehead State University. He is a 1998 graduate of Wheelersburg High School, Ohio. 

Campbellsville University is a widely acclaimed Kentucky-based Christian university with more than 11,900 students offering more than 100 programs of study including Ph.D., master, baccalaureate, associate, pre-professional and certification programs. The university has Kentucky based off-campus centers in Louisville, Harrodsburg, Somerset, Hodgenville and Liberty with instructional sites in Elizabethtown, Owensboro and Summersville. Out-of-state centers include two in California at Los Angeles and Lathrop, located in the San Francisco Bay region. The website for complete information is

Campbellsville University is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges to award certificates, associate, baccalaureate, masters and doctoral degrees. Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097 or call 404-679-4500 for questions about the status of Campbellsville University.